Japanese Candied Sweet Potato/Daigaku Imo

Standard

Sweet potatoes are not so easily available here as that I can go out to the supermarket any day with a guarantee to come home with some. The common available variety seems to be imported from the USA and has an orange flesh. I was very happy to find a different type the other day and this type has purple skin with yellow flesh. Reminds me of Japanese sweet potatoes! Despite the physical similarity, the ones I bought came from Portugal. And since me being terrible with botanical and agricultural knowledge, I can’t tell them apart. Terrible, terrible, terrible.

I didn’t mind. I was happy to have some sweet potatoes to play with in the kitchen and decided to try my hand on making candied sweet potatoes. I’ve eaten them before at a small Japanese bar/restaurant in Singapore. I liked it very much. It was during our last month there. A return visit was at that point impossible to squeeze in.

Daigaku Imo, which translates to university potatoes, are enjoyed by students in autumn, according to Japan Centre. My timing to attempt them was perfect as it is autumn now.

So, here is to revisiting another memory šŸ™‚

IMG_3350.JPG

The recipe is from justonecookbook. It is very easy to make and the instructions are detailed and easy to follow. For the recipe, please click here.

Leave a comment