Khao Niaow Ma Muang (Thai Coconut Sticky Rice with Mango)

Standard

I miss Thai food terribly. While I have not lived in Thailand, I have visited quite a number of times. Plus there are some places that serve great Thai food back in Singapore. The addiction fixes used to come quick and easy. It is much harder now.

The idea of attempting coconut sticky rice with mango (a great favorite of mine since I was a child) came when I was looking at a couple of mangos that I acquired. Sure, it wasn’t not the same sort of mangos. But it was worth a shot. Here was what I ended up with.

20140708-085240-31960802.jpg

I was extremely pleased with the end result. Needless to say, dessert was a hit and pure enjoyment. For the original recipe that I followed, please click on Leela’s page “She Simmers”. She even has a post explaining what sticky rice is as well as how to peel mangos! šŸ™‚

Note: I only have a regular WMF vegetable steamer on hand. What I did was to place the rice, which I soaked for 1 hour, in the middle of a piece of baking paper and place that on the steamer to steam. It turned out quite well!

Happy mango days to everyone šŸ™‚

2 responses »

  1. I love this dish, but have to go to a specialty store for the Thai sticky rice before I can attempt it! Yours looks delicious, just like in the restaurants.

    • Hi Ngan, thank you for stopping by and the wonderful compliment! That’s the highest compliment one could get, in my opinion :)) it is our all time fav and that trip to the specialty store will be 100% worth it!

Leave a Reply

